Why I Run

braceletOn October 13th, I am running the Boston Half Marathon with Dana Farber and Team Ari.

In 2011, I ran the New York City Marathon for Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and this year I’m running a little closer to home with the Boston Athletic Association’s Half Marathon for Dana Farber.  Because the fight is long from over against cancer and its evils.  I run in memory of my gram, and in honor of my mom, my aunt, and countless other family members and friends who have battled cancer with strength and courage.

I am also running this race because I love this city.

And for the first time, I am running with a team and I could not be prouder to be on Team Ari.

Ari is the son of Matt & JulieSue. He is a 2 and 1/2 year old with big blue eyes, pudgy round cheeks, and a huge gleaming smile. He loves to sing, jump, and play the imaginary guitar. He is obsessed with all kinds of trucks. His favorite foods are edamame, broccoli, avocado…and gummy worms. He is hilarious and fun-loving, intelligent and vivacious.

Ari Goldwasser has been fighting (and beating!) T-Cell Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia since June 2012. His treatment protocol is 26 long months of chemo and radiation. Ari is a resilient young boy who will beat this cancer of the white blood cells, and he will live a long and healthy life.

The Goldwassers are 100% convinced that he is alive today, and has the best odds of winning this battle because of the doctors and researchers at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute. The protocols for Ari’s type of Leukemia were developed at the DFCI and are used all over the world. Ari’s head doctor, Lewis Silverman, is at the forefront of pediatric research and advances in pediatric Leukemia medication and survival rates.

Pediatric oncology is one of the most underfunded cancer subsets and the Team Ari funds will be designated to this cause. We are so thankful for your generosity so that Ari and other little kids like him will have the best chance for survival.

Please support me in my efforts to raise vital funds. Every donation will be matched 100%!

Click here to donate

Thank you for supporting Dana-Farber & the Jimmy Fund. Your contribution is greatly appreciated.

One response to “Why I Run

  1. Pingback: Community – or my obligatory “Sex and the City”* post | Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

