It’s Official!

Well it’s been quite a long emotional day but I couldn’t go to sleep without an update on the blog- because today is really the reason for this blog. Today I finally gave my notice at work. So I’m officially going back to school to get my Masters in Library Science at Simmons in Boston! Very exciting and very scary. Telling my boss was really hard- as I realized that I have worked there in some way or another for 7 years now. Wow. But everyone at work has been super understanding and that is great. Reminds me how lucky I’ve been for the past 7 years. So now time to look forward and begin my list of things to do in order to make this all happen!! I’ve already decided that if starting school right away this summer is too quick I will do it in the fall. No matter what, though, I should be back in the States sometime in May.

To celebrate- it was convenient that I had booked a ticket to Ronnie Scott’s- London’s most famous jazz club. They are celebrating their 50th year anniversary and in honor of that they had the Ronnie Scott’s All-Stars, including Peter King, to also honor the 5oth anniversary of Miles Davis’ Kind of Blue album. Do you know that the album still sells 5000 copies a week?! It was a great evening. Hours of jazz with some really talented musicians. This was the complete line up:
Steve Fishwick – tpt Pete King – alto sax Alex Garnett – ten sax James Pearson – piano Sam Burgess – bass Chris Dagley – drums
And the Mike Gorman Trio opened.

Well as I said- it’s been one long day. And I’ve got Chris Meyers’ band tomorrow night at The Borderline!

Signing off
Nicole

Leave a Reply

