New adventures keep coming my way!


Well I’m about half way through my first semester at Simmons. And it continues to get smoother. I’m getting really anxious to be done with these three core classes I’m taking and to move on to electives next semester. I just registered for Spring 2010 today and I’ll be taking:

Reference
Literacy and Services to Underserved Populations
Issues in International Librarianship
The last course will involve spending spring break in Nicaragua!!! I’m so incredibly excited to have been chosen for the course. There will be 15 of us plus staff and it just seems like a great opportunity to learn about serving rural areas, especially abroad. If you would like to see more about the course please click here.
I’m also pretty pumped about the other two classes. The literacy one is really one of the kinds of classes I had in mind when I entered this program.
I’ve also started volunteering at a school library on Monday mornings. So far so good! I also have feelers out to see about volunteering at a corporate library as I think I would like to explore that option as well.
I think I still feel a bit lost but I’m meeting more people and trying to go out of my way to network a bit more. Hopefully at some point I’ll start to feel like there are some connections being made.
Well I think that’s it for now.
I hope the doubts I have about this program start to lessen….I don’t know if it’s that I’m not super challenged or I’m just not sure if this is what I want to do or I just haven’t found my path. Only time will tell….and hopefully the electives of next semester…
Leave a Reply

