Ok time for some culture!

I thought that it would be nice to do a little bit of culture while I was here in London since there is just so much to see. I had been quickly through the National Gallery when I lived here but I thought it may be worth going back. Luckily, I was just in time for a tour which I took advantage of. Our guide was great and she brought us to 5 paintings, bringing us from the 16th century through the 19th. I thought that was a really helpful way to do it as well so you could really see the differences in technique and materials. I am quite the novice when it comes to art (even though I’ve been to so many museums while traveling Europe, I find that not a lot has sunk in unfortunately!) so this was really helpful to be on the tour. I’ve included the links to all five paintings below. The National Gallery has a wonderful site that makes it very simple to navigate through the collection. I find I notice things like that a lot more now after my first few library classes!

di Cione The gold used here was so intricately done. Just gorgeous.
Titian This was my favorite because of the love story between Bacchus and Ariadne that it told.
Velazquez I wasn’t a huge fan of this one…
Turner I liked this because it was almost impressionist but not quite. And it’s setting was London so I’m a bit impartial:)
Monet We ended with this one which really made sense I felt like. Everyone loves Monet, right? I have seen so many Monets and I feel so lucky to be able to say that! My favorites are the ones in Paris. Just seems so fitting to see them there.
I ended my visit with a quick look at the Degas paintings. I just LOVE his dancing paintings. Something about them just makes me smile!
Tomorrow I’m meeting Erin and Georgette from Switzerland at the Tate Modern. Will get a little bit more culture in before I head home. I love that museum and I’m really excited to meet up with Erin and Georgette!
And just in case the gallery was too much culture I evened it all out with a evening with the girls at Dirty Dancing! It was very cheesy but a lot of fun and a great night out. I’ve had the time of my life…..:)
Oh and Saturday I’ll be seeing a matinee of Cat on a Hot Tin Roof. Check out the amazing cast at the link provided. I have a seat waaaaaay up in the balcony but for just 10 GBP I think it will be worth it!
Leave a Reply

