Museums, hikes, family, and friends


This past Memorial Day weekend was just a perfect one. My parents came in from Western Mass for a weekend of seeing several museums that we somehow have never gone to, despite all the time we have all spent in Boston. While my mom and I headed to the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum my dad went to see an exhibit at the Museum of Fine Arts. I’m actually hoping to use his ticket to go see the exhibit as well. Interestingly, a ticket to the MFA is good for one more visit up to 10 days afterwards. Very good to know!


I enjoyed the ISG museum, although I agree with my mom that is rather dark and can be hard to keep yourself from kind of drifting through each room without really looking at anything. It’s also a bit hard to stay engaged because there are only room maps that you can use (along with also the option of an audio guide) to see what each item is. There are no labels for the items. So it just means you have to use your brain a bit more to remain interested. If that makes sense.

The main garden at the ISG, though, is just stunning. It is a shame that you can’t go in it but we discussed that a bit with one of the docents. She told us that it’s basically because the whole museum is built on a landfill so it is literally sinking. Therefore they don’t want too much added pressure on the beautiful mosaics in the gardner. My mom and I thought it was just because people like to touch everything!

My dad met up with us at the ISG and we walked around a bit more, hit up the gift shop, and then headed back to Brookline for a lovely afternoon of thunderstorms and shopping! We ended the day with a fantastic meal at Pho Lemongrass. I will definitely be going back there again very soon. My parents headed to their hotel while I went to Dorchester to a friend’s little party. Overall, a great day.

Sunday I met my parents at the JFK Museum. If you have never been, run don’t walk! It’s an incredible museum. I just love the Kennedys so there is that but it was just a really great and well thought-out museum. Good lighting (!) and an easy to follow look at JFK’s life and career. I just loved everything they had. Really good use of multi-media as well as you go through. I would definitely go back here.

We then headed to a late lunch and then my parents were back to Western Massachusetts while I met up with some friends to sit outside and enjoy the rest of the sunshine.

Monday morning I was picked up by my friend Lynsey for a little hiking right outside Boston. We headed to The Fells in Medford. I could not believe we were so close to the City yet were completely surrounded by nature. Since we were up for a challenge we decided to do the long hike of about 7 miles. This trail is described as:

The trail follows the outer perimeter of the western Fells. There ar spectacular views of Boston and the surrounding area. Most of the Skyline trail is in wooded landscape, with several steep ascents to rocky outcrops. A difficult hike.

It was just perfect. The guide said it should take 5 hours but it just took us 3! We were really booking it! And I got a few pictures here. (the tulips were a present from my parents)
We then headed back into the City for our reward of cold beer and burgers. Perfect!! I hope we get to do some more hikes this summer as it really is so great to just get out of the city for a bit and to do something different than running.

My wonderful Memorial Day weekend was capped off by a drink with a wonderful friend flying in from London. It was so good to see him and to hear about everything going on with him and his family. Although it did leave me missing that city a bit…..

But then I remember what a wonderful time I had in Boston over the weekend and I know this continues to be the place for me….for now…. 😉



Leave a Reply

