Being a tourist in Boston – Part 2

I’ve written a lot on this blog about how I’ve been trying to approach this city as I did London.  I want to do all of the things I’ve said for years that I’ve always wanted to do.  So this past weekend I checked off two more items off that ever growing list.  Yay!

Thursday night I headed to the Institute of Contemporary Art (ICA) on the waterfront in Boston.  Every Thursday night they have free admission from 5-9pm and throughout the summer they’ve had free concerts as well.  I took advantage of both.  There were two really great exhibits going on right now.  The first one I checked out was Charles LeDray.  He makes sculptures that are smaller than life.  Everything is a smaller version.  It was incredible.  There were so many feelings it invokes but most of all, for me, it invoked this sense of childhood and I think that added a sense of vulnerability and fragility to everything I saw.  I highly recommend.

The second exhibition I saw was from the artist, Dr. Lakra.  He is a renowned tattoo artist who lives and works in Mexico.  His pieces were a mix of ads and paintings that he almost tattooed over.  I’m not very good at expressing art that I see so I think you are better off checking out the site and even better, checking out the work at the ICA!

Next on the list was the Boston Harbor Islands.  Now I have been saying I have to check out these for AGES!  So I bought ferry tickets weeks ago and dragged along my friend J. for the adventure.  We headed out from Long Wharf at 10am towards Georges Island.  Georges has a Civil War-era fort called Fort Warren.  We made it in time for a great tour around the fort with a park ranger.  It was a very interesting and neat to walk all around and in the fort.

There was also a Native American Festival going on that we checked out for a bit before enjoying some fried clams and jumping on the free water taxi to our second island for the day, Spectacle.  There is not as much to do on Spectacle but there are some really cool walks around the island along with another Jasper White’s Summer Shack.  We just laid by the water for a bit with an incredible view of downtown Boston in the distance.  Not a bad way to spend a sunny Saturday in August.  I highly recommend checking out these islands ASAP.  $14 round trip!  I’ll definitely be back soon….and perhaps this time I’ll bring a bit of a picnic and some frosty beverages.

Pictures of our day here.

One response to “Being a tourist in Boston – Part 2

  1. Pingback: #bostonstrong | Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

