Maine- the way life should be.

Every year my family goes on vacation in York, Maine.  We stay for 1-2 weeks at a little beach condo across the street from Long Sands Beach. We get to the beach around 10am and stay until 7pm or so.  We pile up the books and the sunscreen.  It’s wonderful.  And while I was living in London it’s one of the things I missed the most.  Now when I was younger I know I definitely didn’t understand why we had to stay on the beach so long but as an “adult” it is one of my favorite activities by far and something I really look forward to.

Now last year, my family was lucky enough to have perhaps the ONLY nice week of the summer in Maine.  We had 7 days in a row of about 90 degree weather.  It was pretty much perfect.  This year we did not fare so well.  We had rain from Sunday though Wednesday.  However we managed to make the most of it while hitting up Portland and lots of outlet shopping in Kittery.  My credit card is still complaining.

In Portland we checked out these great spots:

Portland Public Library – which was just finished its renovation earlier this year

Portland Museum of Art – which had loads of beautiful artwork by mostly Maine residents.

And we obviously had to eat so we stopped at Nosh for some incredible sandwiches and bacon dusted french fries.  Yes, you read that correctly.

So all in all it was a pretty wonderful time in Portland!
Finally by Thursday we got to head to the beach for those perfect 10 hour days filled with sunshine, wave jumping, and reading.  Ah perfection.
On Saturday my friend L. drove up from Boston and we headed to Boothbay Harbor for the rest of the weekend.  We got in a crazy 3 hour bike ride that took us all over the county including a lobster roll that was incredible.  I’m happy to say we did #4 and #5 on this list.  Saturday night we went to a wonderful tapas restaurant called The Boathouse Bistro Tapas Restaurant.  Don’t worry, pictures of all of this food is on my flickr link at the end of this post!
We ended the weekend with a great hike, some souvenir shopping, and a very traffic-ridden ride back to Boston.  But all completely worth it.  And I’ve spent most of this week at beaches in Massachusetts.
Life is oh so good.  🙂
Pictures of my Maine adventures here.

Leave a Reply

