Not sure I miss it…

So I’m on the final stretch of my Facebook cleanse.  A month will be this Friday 10/22.  And I have to be really honest.  I’m not really missing it.  I’ve found that I was wasting a whole lot of time on it.  And I like my time.

I’ve also realized that it has made me reach out to my friends to see what’s going on with them instead of just reading their status updates.  This is a good thing!  And if my friends want to know about what’s going on with me, they ask.  And if they don’t, well that’s fine.

However, there are some reasons I think I probably will re-activate my account:

1) I miss seeing pictures of my family and close friends that only share these things on Facebook now

2) I was following the careers of my friends who are musicians, artist, business owners on it and I feel a bit out of that now.

3) My mom asked me to tell her more about a link she had received for Facebook and I had to tell her I couldn’t because I was cleansing.  ha

4) The November elections are coming up and I would like to be able to use the Facebook platform to guilt my friends into voting.

People have teased me about the fact that I’m going to go back to Facebook.  Well that wasn’t the point.  I never said I wouldn’t go back.  I just wanted to take a step back and see how it was impacting my life and my relationships with people.  I really have found that I’m probably missing out on learning about things going on with people who I have very limited relationships with anyways.  Is that a bad thing?  I’m not sure.

Most likely I probably will go back to Facebook.  But hopefully in a very limited capacity.  And I will not let myself feel guilty about removing all of those “friends” that I have not seen or spoken to in over a year.  I promise.

One response to “Not sure I miss it…

  1. Pingback: I’m back! | Living the Dream – In Brookline

Leave a Reply

