Twitter for Library School

First – apologies for the radio silence.  That’s what working, school, and my oh so busy social life will get you.  ha.

For my User Instruction class, where we have been learning all sorts of teaching methods and skills, our final project was to present something to the class for a duration of 15 minutes.  It should be library-related but it could really be ANYTHING.  And the audience could be ANYONE.  Broad enough for ya?

So I figured I would teach about something I knew.  For the most part.  And something I liked and found useful.  And my audience would be my peers.  My fellow library science colleagues.  I decided to teach them all about TWITTER!  I had a feeling that many of my peers found Twitter to be silly and useful and merely a way to see what Justin Bieber is up to these days.  But, over the last few months I have been amazed at what wonderful connections I have made, to not only librarians but to other library school students!  It’s been really wonderful to connect, share, and even vent with my fellow future librarians all over the country.  So I wanted to share all this with my classmates along with some of the other useful ways to utilize Twitter.

My presentation covered:

  • Creating an account
  • The ABCs of Tweeting
  • How to Follow
  • Hashtag searching (including using #librarian #libraryschool, #hacklibschool, etc)
  • Organizing through Lists and Twitter Applications
  • Following conferences through Twitter (#ala11, etc)
  • Job searching through Twitter

I did this all through a mix of slides and live web demo.  And I think it was a huge success!  I had people come up to me afterward and tell me that they had no clue they could do these things on Twitter and they were so thankful for my presentation.  That meant the world to me.  I had been really nervous about using my actual classmates as my audience so to know that I had actually taught them something was the greatest feeling.  And now some of them have even found me on Twitter via the #libraryschool tag.

Social Media- figuring out how it can work for YOU!

One response to “Twitter for Library School

  1. Ahhhh I loved that class so much. Glad to hear you got a lot out of it, as well.

Leave a Reply

