We’re gonna party like it’s your birthday…

As some of my faithful readers may know, I celebrated a birthday yesterday.  The big 31.  Not nearly as exciting of an occasion as the big 30 but it’s a birthday none the less.

I had a pretty big celebration for my 30th last year where my amazing friends threw me a wonderful little pub crawl in downtown Boston so this year I’d figure I’d do something a bit more casual.  I get that birthdays can be exciting things but I think as you get older they can take a bit of a new meaning.  They can be a time of reflection, a time of questioning whether this is where you thought you’d be at this age, a time for looking back and seeing what accomplishments you’ve done, and for looking to see what you want to do in the future.  I think it can also be a time of reflecting on the people in your life and the strength of friendships.  Or maybe it’s just a time to indulge in good food and champagne.

So that’s why this past weekend, I was so happy with my early little birthday celebration.  My family came in for a fantastic brunch at The Fireplace and then later that night I went with some friends to my favorite neighborhood spot, American Craft.  It was a lovely way to spend a weekend.

That is why I never expected what happened on my actual birthday.  My friend J had made plans with me about a month ago to take me out for sushi at Fugakyu.  I was excited but I have to say a little confused as to why she was so insistent that we go out for a later dinner.  I mean, I am now 31 and it was a Tuesday night. 🙂   But I went ahead with her plans and was just touched that she was taking me out.  So you can imagine my shock when I get to the restaurant and I see, not J, but my best friend of almost 13 years, Tim,  at the bar.  Now T lives in NYC.  Not in Brookline.  And he has a job.  So this meant he had FLOWN IN FOR THE NIGHT to surprise me on my birthday!  It was crazy.  And more than I could have ever imagined.  Turned out that J had been on the whole thing along with my sister.  Amazing.  It was just incredible.

Re-enacting my surprise

So beyond the amazing celebration, food, and champagne this birthday – I was also reminded of how amazingly blessed I am for the people in my life.  I have the most wonderful friends and family and they continue to show me support and love in ways that I am constantly awed by.

Thank you to everyone who made this truly a birthday to remember.

2 responses to “We’re gonna party like it’s your birthday…

  1. so i just checked my camera to make sure that your ACTUAL surprise face was not capture. i only have a picture of my boots. dang double flash. that would have been amazing to capture. boo.

  2. Pingback: Somewhere To Belong | Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

