2 Years Ago Today….

…I booked my last stock loan trade.  Well that may be an exaggeration as I would imagine I did very little on my last day at the Bank.  But you get the idea.  I walked out of that office on Fleet Street for the last time after three years in London and after being at the Bank since I was 21.  

Since I was maybe 15 I wanted to work at the Bank.  I remember when I got my offer – it seemed absolutely unreal.  A dream come true.  And that’s how it continued to feel for the next 3 years in Boston and then 3 more in London. I am fairly confident that I will look back on my time in London as a turning point in my life.  It was an incredible experience.  But I won’t get into all of that now.  Maybe I’ll post about that on 4/23 to mark the 5th anniversary of that very first day across the Pond….

But for now I just wanted to take a moment to think about the last 2 years.  It definitely feels longer than that.  It has been a crazy ride this whole graduate school thing.  And I have, on numerous occasions, looked back to the day I gave my boss my notice and wondered if I did the right thing.  I also think that with enough people looking at you like you’re crazy when you tell them you quit the Bank to be a librarian, well, that will throw your confidence a bit!

But I can now say, with maybe 85% confidence, that I believe I did the best thing for me.  I was getting a little bored with my old position and I was ready for something brand new.  It has been a huge challenge but I am so very happy I took a leap of faith.  I have learned so much in the last two years, about myself, about libraries (!), about my new profession, and about how I want to live my life.

I have been so very lucky to have friends and family that have supported me every step of the way.  This is one of the reasons I moved back – to be closer to those that mean so much to me.  It has meant that I am now further away from others that mean the world to me but that is what Skype and email is for, luckily.

So I look back on the last two years, knowing I have fallen, gotten back up, and will, I’m sure, fall again.  But that’s what happens when you challenge yourself.  What would life be if we didn’t step out of our comfort zone from time to time?

2 responses to “2 Years Ago Today….

  1. Pingback: Not a Librarian? | Living the Dream

  2. Pingback: Not a Librarian? | SLA New England

Leave a Reply

