Packing Is What I Do

As I prepare to move, again, tomorrow, I thought it made sense to look back on the moves I’ve made since I left my parent’s house at 18.  It is really ridiculous how many times I’ve moved in the last 13 years.  I partially blame my undergrad and its lack of on-campus housing but I also think it just has to do a bit with my desire to try new things…..

So without further adieu…a look back at the last 13 years of moves….

Moved…

  1. to my Freshman dorm
  2. back to my parent’s house
  3. to my first dorm room for being an orientation leader for the summer
  4. to my second dorm room for being an orientation leader for the summer
  5. back to my parent’s house
  6. to off-campus apartment on H. Street for Sophomore year
  7. to off-campus apartment on G. Street for 1st quarter of Middler year
  8. to campus apartment on S. Street for 2nd quarter of Middler year
  9. to campus apartment on P. Street for 3rd and 4th quarter of Middler year
  10. to campus apartment on S. Street for Junior year as an RA
  11. to campus apartment on C. Street for summer of Junior year as an RA
  12. to parent’s house
  13. to Australia for 1st quarter of Senior year
  14. to parent’s house
  15. to off-campus apartment on S. Street for rest of Senior year and summer after graduation
  16. to South Boston for post-graduation year
  17. to North End for 1.5 years upon the purchase of a condo
  18. to corporate housing in London for a month
  19. to apartment/flat in London for 3 years
  20. to parent’s house for a summer
  21. to Brookline for 1.5 years
  22. to new spot in Brookline for the foreseeable future.

And only the moves to and from London were with professional movers.  Wow.  I’m exhausted.  (And I have a feeling my parents and sister and brother-in-law are too…ha)

2 responses to “Packing Is What I Do

  1. i’m tired having read that.

  2. I’m with Tim on this one. I thought I’d moved a lot, what with jumping between Oregon, California and Asia, but I’d estimate I’ve moved only half as many times as you!

    It’s definitely pleasing–if unusual–to have been in the same place for two years running. The itch is definitely returning, though!

Leave a Reply

