62264*

My postings here have really been lacking over the last few months.  And when I have posted, it has been about running.  Well, hopefully I will not disappoint my faithful readers when I tell you that that is again the subject of a post.  Running.

Over the last week I found out my number for the marathon.  62264.  And now the big day is just about 2 weeks away.  It’s still super surreal.  Months of training and physical and mental exhaustion will lead up to one day.  What a journey.  As I begin to taper (cut back on mileage, etc), my body is really starting to feel the weeks of running.  I’m achy, feel like I’m getting a cold, and all-around just tired.

I just started reading A Race Like No Other as was recommended to me by a friend who has run the NYC marathon in the past.  I’m only about 50 pages in but already I can start to understand how emotional of a day it will be for me.  When I thought about doing a marathon last year I wasn’t convinced I wanted to do a big one like NYC.  But after talking to a few friends who had done it, I was sold.  And I’m so very happy now that it will be my first, and maybe only, marathon I run.  I can’t wait to take in all of the sites around me, the spectators, the music, the cheering, my fellow runners, and the city.

So now I’ve just got to get through one more long Saturday morning run tomorrow.  And my training will start to come to a close.  All that will be left to do is to hope for a beautiful Fall day on 11/6.

*I also just noticed that again I have titled a post with a number.  Another example of how all this running has turned my brain to mush.  Creativity is obviously lacking.
4 responses to “62264*

  1. I can’t even begin to imagine the dedication and training you have to go through to prepare for a marathon. Kudos to you for keeping it up and inspiring others.

  2. I’m so looking to hearing about the run, after you’ve run it. ♥

  3. Thanks Deb! Your support has been awesome!!

Leave a Reply

